1st Consultation

Published UK prices for 1st consultation currently range from £27.50 to £62.95, based on 11 veterinary practices across 11 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£27.50–£62.95
Practices compared
11
UK locations
11
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published 1st consultation listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a consultationQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

A published consultation fee may cover the appointment only. Ask what the fee covers before you book.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the stated fee is for a standard vet appointment during normal opening hours.
  • Ask whether an examination and discussion of next steps are covered by that fee.
  • Check whether medicines, tests, procedures or a follow-up appointment would be charged separately.

If the appointment could lead to tests or treatment, ask when the clinic will pause and discuss additional costs.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Aspen Vet Surgery

Part of aspenvets.com

£55

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Sidcup

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Aspen Vets

Part of aspenvets.com

£55

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Sidcup

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Ballymena Pet Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£29.50

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ballymena

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Beaconsfield Veterinary Clinic

Independently owned

£62.95

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Weston-super-Mare

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cavan Vets Bushbury

Part of cavan-vets.co.uk

£49.50

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wolverhampton

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cavan Vets Willenhall Branch

Part of cavan-vets.co.uk

£49.50

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Willenhall

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets Shore Road

Part of City Vets

£27.50

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Belfast

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Happy Pets Veterinary Surgery

Independently owned

£42.50

Published fee · ‚Äã1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Edinburgh

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Happy Pets Veterinary Surgery

Independently owned

£52.50

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Edinburgh

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Island VetCare

Ownership not confirmed

£51.66

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ryde

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Swanspool Veterinary Clinic

Ownership not confirmed

£57.62

Published fee · 1st Consultation

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wellingborough

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Vale Veterinary Group

Part of valevetgroup.co.uk

£54.90

Published fee · 1st Consultation =

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stourport-on-Severn

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vale Veterinary Group

Part of Vale Veterinary Group

£54.90

Published fee · 1st Consultation =

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Kidderminster

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Other treatments UK owners compare alongside 1st consultation.

Frequently asked questions

How much does 1st Consultation cost at a UK vet?
Published UK prices for 1st consultation currently range from £27.50 to £62.95, based on 11 veterinary practices across 11 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
Why do 1st Consultation prices vary between vets?
Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
Does the price include everything?
Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

Get vet and medicine price alerts

We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

Pet:
Alerts for:

No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.