Petfair price evidence
UK vet prices for common procedures
Compare prices published by veterinary practices and groups, see how much evidence supports each figure, and browse every national procedure guide that passes Petfair's existing evidence and geographic-spread rules.
Published prices found by Petfair
How much do common vet procedures cost in the UK?
A standard regular-hours vet consultation currently has published prices from £39–£83in Petfair's sample, while the median published price for standalone microchipping is £30 and for a female cat spay is £150.
These figures come from prices publicly published by veterinary practices and groups; they are not a complete survey of every UK practice. Final costs can vary with the animal, location, clinical circumstances and what the fee includes. Confirm the treatment and final price directly with the veterinary practice.
Common procedures
UK published-price guide
Medians appear only where the existing evidence engine permits a typical-price claim. Otherwise Petfair shows the observed exact-price range without calling it typical.
| Procedure | Typical published price | Observed published range | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard vet consultation (regular hours)Published prices for standard vet consultation (regular hours) currently range from £39 to £83 across 583 veterinary practices in 318 UK locations. Service definitions or inclusions vary, so Petfair does not state a median.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | Not statedService definitions or inclusions vary | £39–£83 | 583 veterinary practices318 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Standalone microchippingPublished prices for standalone microchipping have a median of £30 across 136 veterinary practices in 119 UK locations.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | £30Median in Petfair's sample | £15–£46 | 136 veterinary practices119 recorded UK locationsPrices checked: 21 Aug 2026 |
| Cat spayPublished prices for cat spay have a median of £150 across 138 veterinary practices in 89 UK locations.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | £150Median in Petfair's sample | £75–£258 | 138 veterinary practices89 recorded UK locationsPrices checked: 21 Aug 2026 |
| Cat castrationPublished prices for cat castration have a median of £109 across 163 veterinary practices in 110 UK locations.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | £109Median in Petfair's sample | £55–£209 | 163 veterinary practices110 recorded UK locationsPrices checked: 21 Aug 2026 |
| Dog booster vaccinationPublished prices for dog booster vaccination currently range from £30 to £111 across 536 veterinary practices in 365 UK locations. Service definitions or inclusions vary, so Petfair does not state a median.Local comparisons: London, Glasgow | Not statedService definitions or inclusions vary | £30–£111 | 536 veterinary practices365 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Puppy vaccination course (first and second visits)Published prices for puppy vaccination course (first and second visits) currently range from £62 to £180 across 577 veterinary practices in 315 UK locations. Service definitions or inclusions vary, so Petfair does not state a median. | Not statedService definitions or inclusions vary | £62–£180 | 577 veterinary practices315 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Rabbit vaccinationPublished prices for rabbit vaccination have a median of £92.50 across 404 veterinary practices in 272 UK locations.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | £92.50Median in Petfair's sample | £40–£132 | 404 veterinary practices272 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Rabies vaccinationPublished prices for rabies vaccination have a median of £89.75 across 126 veterinary practices in 98 UK locations.Local comparisons: London | £89.75Median in Petfair's sample | £45–£154.50 | 126 veterinary practices98 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Written prescription feePublished prices for written prescription fee currently range from £14 to £40.50 across 167 veterinary practices in 112 UK locations. Service definitions or inclusions vary, so Petfair does not state a median.Local comparisons: London, Bristol | Not statedService definitions or inclusions vary | £14–£40.50 | 167 veterinary practices112 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
| Nail clippingPublished prices for nail clipping currently range from £14.50 to £50 across 87 veterinary practices in 61 UK locations. Service definitions or inclusions vary, so Petfair does not state a median.Local comparisons: London, Glasgow | Not statedService definitions or inclusions vary | £14.50–£50 | 87 veterinary practices61 recorded UK locationsDataset snapshot: 4 Oct 2026 |
One exact or fixed price is counted per practice after duplicate, conflicting, implausible, unrelated and unsupported-source rows are removed. Qualified “from” and “up to” prices do not affect these figures. Full methodology
Citation-ready statistics
What Petfair's current data shows
These statistics describe Petfair's published-price sample, not the entire UK veterinary market.
- Standalone microchipping median
- £30
- Evidence-backed national guides
- 411
- Clinic records with published prices
- 2,428
136 comparable veterinary practices; 21 Aug 2026.
View supporting pricesCanonical procedure pages passing Petfair's existing national evidence gate.
Browse the directoryClinic records containing at least one published price in the current repository snapshot.
Understand the coverageComplete directory
Browse all 411 evidence-backed procedure guides
Highlighted prices above are deliberately selective. Every canonical, indexable national procedure destination remains linked below, including useful long-tail service and weight-band pages.