Vet consultation

Published UK prices for vet consultation currently range from £47 to £67.50, based on 56 veterinary practices across 42 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£47–£67.50
Practices compared
56
UK locations
42
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published vet consultation listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a consultationQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

A published consultation fee may cover the appointment only. Ask what the fee covers before you book.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the stated fee is for a standard vet appointment during normal opening hours.
  • Ask whether an examination and discussion of next steps are covered by that fee.
  • Check whether medicines, tests, procedures or a follow-up appointment would be charged separately.

If the appointment could lead to tests or treatment, ask when the clinic will pause and discuss additional costs.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Bay Vets

Operated by Linnaeus

£54.87

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Lancaster

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Bay Vets Caton

Operated by Linnaeus

£54.87

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Lancaster

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Bay Vets Milnthorpe

Part of bayvets.co.uk

£54.87

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Milnthorpe

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Bay Vets Morecambe

Operated by Linnaeus

£54.87

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Morecambe

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blacks Vets in Dudley

Operated by Linnaeus

£57

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Dudley

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blacks Vets in Lye, Stourbridge

Operated by Linnaeus

£57

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stourbridge

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blacks Vets in Sedgley

Operated by Linnaeus

£57

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Dudley

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blythwood Vets - Bushey

Operated by Linnaeus

£67.50

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Bushey

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blythwood Vets - Hatch End

Operated by Linnaeus

£67.50

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Pinner

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Blythwood Vets - Stanmore

Operated by Linnaeus

£67.50

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stanmore

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Boundary Veterinary Centre - Abingdon

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Abingdon

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Brentknoll Vets in Worcester

Operated by Linnaeus

£52

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Worcester

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cinque Ports Veterinary Hospital - Kingsnorth

Operated by Linnaeus

£54.50

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ashford

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cinque Ports Vets Tenterden

Operated by Linnaeus

£54.50

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Tenterden

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets in Alphington

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Exeter

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets in Heavitree

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Exeter

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets in St Thomas

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Exeter

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets in Whipton

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Exeter

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cromwell Veterinary Group

Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

£60

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • St. Ives

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cromwell Vets

Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

£60

Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Cromwell Vets in Great Cambourne

    Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Cambridge

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Cromwell Vets in Huntingdon

    Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Huntingdon

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Cromwell Vets in Ramsey

    Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Huntingdon

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Cromwell Vets in Sawtry

    Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Huntingdon

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Cromwell Vets in St Neots

    Part of cromwellvets.co.uk

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • St. Neots

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Edgewood Veterinary Group - Maldon Surgery

    Part of edgewoodvets.co.uk

    £49.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Maldon

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Edgewood Veterinary Group - Purleigh Surgery

    Part of edgewoodvets.co.uk

    £49.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Chelmsford

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    End Cottage Vets

    Ownership not confirmed

    £51.48

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Goole

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Folly Gardens Veterinary Clinic - Cheltenham

    Part of follygardens.com

    £57.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Cheltenham

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Folly Gardens Veterinary Clinic, Bishop's Cleeve

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £57.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Cheltenham

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Folly Gardens Veterinary Clinic, Tewkesbury

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £57.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Tewkesbury

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Hawick veterinary practice

    Ownership not confirmed

    £55

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Hawick

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Lida Vets in Newmarket

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £54

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Newmarket

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Maggie and Marlow Vets Kidderminster

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Kidderminster

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Moor Cottage Vets in Bracknell

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £57

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Bracknell

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    My Pets Vets Twist Lane

    Ownership not confirmed

    £47

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Leigh

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Norwood Veterinary Group

    Part of norwoodvets.co.uk

    £49.24

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Beverley

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Norwood Veterinary Group Kingswood

    Part of norwoodvets.co.uk

    £49.24

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Hull

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets in Blantyre

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets in Crookfur

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets in Glasgow - The Roundhouse Veterinary Hospital

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets in Hairmyres

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets in Queen Margaret Drive - McDonald Vets

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Pets'n'Vets Scotstoun - McDonald Vets

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £60

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glasgow

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Spinney Vets Kettering Road - Northampton

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £62.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Northampton

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    St Clair Veterinary Group

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £57

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glenrothes

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    St Clair Veterinary Group Leven

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £57

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Leven

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    St. Clair Vets in Kirkcaldy

    Part of stclairvet.co.uk

    £57

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Kirkcaldy

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    The Gables Veterinary Centre

    Ownership not confirmed

    £51.48

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Hessle

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Victoria Vets Chapel

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £51.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • High Peak

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Victoria Vets Glossop

    Part of victoriavets.co.uk

    £51.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Glossop

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Warren House Vets in Lordswood, Chatham

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £59.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Chatham

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Warren House Vets in Rochester

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £59.50

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Rochester

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Wicstun Veterinary Group

    Part of wicstunvetgroup.co.uk

    £52

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Brough

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Wicstun Veterinary Hospital 24 Hour

    Part of wicstunvetgroup.co.uk

    £52

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • York

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Woodward Veterinary Practice

    Operated by Linnaeus

    £52

    Published fee · Consult Vet (regular opening times)

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Ashby-de-la-Zouch

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Other treatments UK owners compare alongside vet consultation.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does Vet consultation cost at a UK vet?
    Published UK prices for vet consultation currently range from £47 to £67.50, based on 56 veterinary practices across 42 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
    Why do Vet consultation prices vary between vets?
    Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
    Does the price include everything?
    Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

    Get vet and medicine price alerts

    We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

    Pet:
    Alerts for:

    No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.