Vet consultation

Published UK prices for vet consultation currently range from £42 to £70, based on 35 veterinary practices across 27 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£42–£70
Practices compared
35
UK locations
27
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published vet consultation listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a consultationQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

A published consultation fee may cover the appointment only. Ask what the fee covers before you book.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the stated fee is for a standard vet appointment during normal opening hours.
  • Ask whether an examination and discussion of next steps are covered by that fee.
  • Check whether medicines, tests, procedures or a follow-up appointment would be charged separately.

If the appointment could lead to tests or treatment, ask when the clinic will pause and discuss additional costs.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Afon Veterinary Centre

Part of Afon Veterinary Centre

£54

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Neath

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Veterinary Centres

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stratford-upon-Avon

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Veterinary Centres

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Leamington Spa

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Vets in Heathcote, Leamington Spa

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Leamington Spa

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Vets in Kenilworth

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Kenilworth

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Vets in Southam

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Southam

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Vets in Warwick

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Warwick

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Avonvale Vets in Wellesbourne

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Warwick

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Broadway Vets in Bebington, Wirral

Part of broadwayvets.co.uk

£54

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wirral

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Broadway Vets in Heswall, Wirral

Part of broadwayvets.co.uk

£54

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wirral

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Broadway Vets in Wallasey, Wirral

Part of broadwayvets.co.uk

£54

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wallasey

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Chapel House Veterinary Practice

Operated by Linnaeus

£43

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Chesterfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Chapel House Vets in Staveley

Operated by Linnaeus

£43

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Chesterfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Chess Vets in Chorleywood

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Rickmansworth

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Chess Vets in Rickmansworth

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Rickmansworth

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Family Friends Vets

Independently owned

£60

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Slough

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Greenside Vets in Jedburgh

Part of greensidevetpractice.co.uk

£55

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Jedburgh

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Greenside Vets in Melrose

Part of greensidevetpractice.co.uk

£55

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Melrose

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Ironstone Veterinary Clinic - Vets Middlesbrough

Independently owned

£42

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Middlesbrough

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Luxstowe Vets, Looe

Operated by VetPartners

£57.61

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Looe

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Maven Veterinary Care - Sutton, London

Operated by Linnaeus

£62

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Sutton

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Mill House Veterinary Surgery & Hospital

Ownership not confirmed

£70

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • King's Lynn
  • 🐱 Cats

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

PAWS Veterinary Health Centre

Ownership not confirmed

£68.22

Published fee · Consultation fee**

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Nuneaton

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Petersfield Integrated Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£50

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Petersfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shepherds the Vets

Part of shepherdsthevets.co.uk

£49.50

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Porthcawl

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shepherds Veterinary Hospital

Part of shepherdsthevets.co.uk

£49.50

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Bridgend

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shirebrook Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£50

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Mansfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shires Veterinary Practice

Part of shiresvets.com

£58.35

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stafford

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shires Vets in Eaton Park, Stoke

Part of shiresvets.com

£58.35

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stoke-on-Trent

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Shires Vets in Stone

Part of shiresvets.com

£58.35

Published fee · Consultation Fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stone

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Spire Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£48

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Chesterfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Staveley Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£50

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Chesterfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Ivybridge vet

Independently owned

£45

Published fee · Consultation fee

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ivybridge

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Leadon Vale Veterinary Centre

Operated by Linnaeus

£50

Published fee · Consultation Fee*

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ledbury

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Whitestone Veterinary Clinic

Ownership not confirmed

£68.22

Published fee · Consultation fee**

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Nuneaton

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Other treatments UK owners compare alongside vet consultation.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Vet consultation cost at a UK vet?
Published UK prices for vet consultation currently range from £42 to £70, based on 35 veterinary practices across 27 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
Why do Vet consultation prices vary between vets?
Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
Does the price include everything?
Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

Get vet and medicine price alerts

We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

Pet:
Alerts for:

No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.