Scale and Polish

Published UK prices for scale and polish currently range from £150 to £435, based on 6 veterinary practices across 6 UK locations. Petfair does not state a typical price because this exact service label can still differ in scope between clinics.

Published range
£150–£435
Practices compared
6
UK locations
6
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published scale and polish listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to dental treatmentQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.
Cost breakdownWhy can dental costs vary?

Published dental prices vary because clinics may describe different levels of anaesthesia, imaging, cleaning, extraction and aftercare.

Explanatory only: these scope-sensitive labels are not used here to rank clinics, create a median or infer a treatment total.

Headline published evidence

Exact published span available

Petfair holds exact published prices from 6 veterinary practices across the UK sample, spanning £150 to £435. This is evidence for this page's exact service identity, not a quote or treatment total.

Evidence checked against 6 exact-price providers in 6 recorded locations. Snapshot: .

Broad dental labels are explanatory only. Where this exact page has enough published evidence, Petfair may show an exact-identity span, never a treatment total or a national median.

What this service may include

Possible components only: a clinic's price may include some, all or none of these. Ask the clinic to confirm each item; Petfair does not infer clinic-specific inclusions.

  • □ Examination or consultation
  • □ General anaesthesia or sedation and monitoring
  • □ Dental X-rays
  • □ Scale and polish
  • □ Extractions charged by number, type, time or band
  • □ Pain relief or other medicines where clinically required
  • □ Follow-up and aftercare

What can change the final cost

  • • The exact procedure scope and how extractions are charged
  • • Whether the estimate bundles anaesthesia, monitoring and dental imaging or lists them separately
  • • Additional findings and any extra work agreed with the clinic

What to confirm with the clinic

  • • Ask whether the estimate includes anaesthesia and monitoring.
  • • Ask whether the estimate covers dental X-rays and scale and polish.
  • • Confirm how extractions are charged and whether the estimate covers any.
  • • Ask whether medicines, follow-up and aftercare would be separate.
  • • Ask what could increase the estimate and when the clinic will contact you.

This explains cost structure only. It does not assess whether a test, scan or treatment is clinically needed. Only the veterinary team can advise what is appropriate for the individual animal.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Ballymena Pet Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£165

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ballymena

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

City Vets Shore Road

Part of City Vets

£150

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Belfast

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Flynn Vets Ballynahinch

Part of Flynn Vets Balmoral

From£240

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ballynahinch

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Flynn Vets Commons Brae

Part of flynnvets.com

From£240

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Belfast

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Kimbolton Vets

Independently owned

£435

Published fee · Scale and polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Huntingdon

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Longridge Vets

Independently owned

From£149.95

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Preston
  • 🐶 Dogs
  • Important price notes:
    up to £230

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Queen’s Veterinary School Hospital

Part of hospital.vet.cam.ac.uk

From£370

Published fee · Scale and polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Cambridge

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Urban Vet

Ownership not confirmed

£425

Published fee · Scale and polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • London

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Vale Veterinary Group

Part of valevetgroup.co.uk

£295

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stourport-on-Severn

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vale Veterinary Group

Part of Vale Veterinary Group

£295

Published fee · Scale and Polish

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Kidderminster

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Frequently asked questions

How much does Scale and Polish cost at a UK vet?
Published UK prices for scale and polish currently range from £150 to £435, based on 6 veterinary practices across 6 UK locations. Petfair does not state a typical price because this exact service label can still differ in scope between clinics.
Why do Scale and Polish prices vary between vets?
Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
Does the price include everything?
Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

Get vet and medicine price alerts

We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

Pet:
Alerts for:

No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.