Written Prescription Charge

Published UK prices for written prescription charge currently range from £20 to £24, based on 8 veterinary practices across 8 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£20–£24
Practices compared
8
UK locations
8
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published written prescription charge listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a written prescriptionQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

Separate the clinic prescription fee from the cost of the medicine, delivery and any consultation or monitoring needed.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the fee is per prescription, per medicine or per item, and how many repeats it permits.
  • Ask how long the prescription is valid and whether a recheck or monitoring test would be charged separately.
  • Check the exact medicine, strength, formulation, pack quantity and delivery cost before comparing retailers.

For medicines sold online, use the VMD register where registration is required and follow the prescription supplied by your vet.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗ Online suppliers of POM-V, POM-VPS and NFA-VPS medicines must be VMD-registered before supply. VMD guidance ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Conanvet Limited (Fortrose)

Ownership not confirmed

£21

Published fee · Written prescription charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Fortrose
  • 🐱 Cats

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Grove Veterinary Surgery

Ownership not confirmed

£21.25

Published fee · WRITTEN PRESCRIPTION CHARGE

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Southsea

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Kings Veterinary Centre

Part of kingsvetcentre.com

£20

Published fee · Written Prescription Charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Melton Mowbray

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Kings Veterinary Centre

Part of kingsvetcentre.com

£20

Published fee · Written Prescription Charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Leicester

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Llantarnam Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£20

Published fee · Written Prescription Charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Cwmbran

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Rutland Veterinary Centre

Part of rutlandvets.co.uk

£20

Published fee · Written Prescription Charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • East Langton

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Rutland Veterinary Centre Priors Hall

Part of rutlandvets.co.uk

£20

Published fee · Written Prescription Charge

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Corby

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Three Valleys Veterinary Clinic

Ownership not confirmed

£24

Published fee · WRITTEN PRESCRIPTION CHARGE

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ottery Saint Mary

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Other treatments UK owners compare alongside written prescription charge.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Written Prescription Charge cost at a UK vet?
Published UK prices for written prescription charge currently range from £20 to £24, based on 8 veterinary practices across 8 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
Why do Written Prescription Charge prices vary between vets?
Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
Does the price include everything?
Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

Get vet and medicine price alerts

We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

Pet:
Alerts for:

No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.