Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Published UK prices for written prescription fee (per item) currently range from £15 to £40, based on 16 veterinary practices across 14 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£15–£40
Practices compared
16
UK locations
14
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

For fee definitions, total-cost checks and the future CMA timetable, read the UK written-prescription fee guide.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published written prescription fee (per item) listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a written prescriptionQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

Separate the clinic prescription fee from the cost of the medicine, delivery and any consultation or monitoring needed.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the fee is per prescription, per medicine or per item, and how many repeats it permits.
  • Ask how long the prescription is valid and whether a recheck or monitoring test would be charged separately.
  • Check the exact medicine, strength, formulation, pack quantity and delivery cost before comparing retailers.

For medicines sold online, use the VMD register where registration is required and follow the prescription supplied by your vet.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗ Online suppliers of POM-V, POM-VPS and NFA-VPS medicines must be VMD-registered before supply. VMD guidance ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

608 Vets

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Solihull

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

608 Vets in Acocks Green

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Birmingham

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

608 Vets in Bentley Heath

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Solihull

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Denby Dale

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Huddersfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Dewsbury

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Dewsbury

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Mirfield

Part of caldervets.co.uk

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Mirfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Penistone

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Sheffield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Sandal

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wakefield

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Wakefield

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ossett

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Calder Vets in Waterloo

Operated by Linnaeus

£22

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Huddersfield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Riversmeet Vets in Tamworth

Operated by Linnaeus

£17

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Tamworth

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

St John's Veterinary Surgery

Ownership not confirmed

£15

Published fee · Written Prescription fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Berkhamsted

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Sundean Veterinary Group - Forest of Dean

Part of sundeanvets.co.uk

£40

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Cinderford

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Sundean Veterinary Group - Hartpury

Part of sundeanvets.co.uk

£40

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Gloucester

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Sundean Veterinary Group - Lydney

Part of sundeanvets.co.uk

£40

Published fee · Written Prescription Fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Lydney

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Hart Veterinary Centre

Ownership not confirmed

£34

Published fee · Written prescription fee (per item)

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Aylesbury

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Other treatments UK owners compare alongside written prescription fee (per item).

Frequently asked questions

How much does Written Prescription Fee (per item) cost at a UK vet?
Published UK prices for written prescription fee (per item) currently range from £15 to £40, based on 16 veterinary practices across 14 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
Why do Written Prescription Fee (per item) prices vary between vets?
Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
Does the price include everything?
Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

Get vet and medicine price alerts

We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

Pet:
Alerts for:

No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.