Written Prescriptions

Published UK prices for written prescriptions currently range from £15.08 to £42, based on 27 veterinary practices across 25 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.

Published range
£15.08–£42
Practices compared
27
UK locations
25
Prices snapshot
4 October 2026

Figures come from each practice's own published price list, counting one exact or fixed price per practice. “From” prices, ambiguous bundles and unrelated variants are excluded, and Petfair does not estimate prices for practices that do not publish one — so this is a sample of the market, not every UK vet.

For fee definitions, total-cost checks and the future CMA timetable, read the UK written-prescription fee guide.

Real published prices, not estimates — taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Prices can vary by pet, weight, location, and what is included. How we collect prices.

What these prices mean

Published price
The exact fee the clinic lists online.
“From £”
A starting price. The final cost can be higher depending on your pet's size, weight, or what's included.
Not listed
The clinic hasn't published this price online — contact them for a quote.

You’re seeing published written prescriptions listings tracked by Petfair. Enter your town or postcode below to compare published prices near you.

Estimate helperBefore you agree to a written prescriptionQuestions to make the estimate easier to understand.

Separate the clinic prescription fee from the cost of the medicine, delivery and any consultation or monitoring needed.

These are possible components only: the price may include some, all or none of them. Ask the clinic whether each item is covered. Prices are not directly comparable unless the scope matches.

What to confirm

  • Confirm whether the fee is per prescription, per medicine or per item, and how many repeats it permits.
  • Ask how long the prescription is valid and whether a recheck or monitoring test would be charged separately.
  • Check the exact medicine, strength, formulation, pack quantity and delivery cost before comparing retailers.

For medicines sold online, use the VMD register where registration is required and follow the prescription supplied by your vet.

Open the reusable estimate checklist
  • □ An itemised list of likely charges
  • □ VAT included in every figure
  • □ Anaesthesia, sedation and monitoring
  • □ Diagnostics and laboratory tests
  • □ Medicines and take-home pain relief
  • □ Follow-up appointments and aftercare
  • □ What could increase the estimate
  • □ The amount or circumstance that triggers a call before more work
Sources and current status

Current professional guidanceRCVS guidance says non-emergency treatment should have a written estimate with likely itemised charges, complications, follow-up and VAT; material increases should be discussed before continuing. RCVS source ↗

Current lawThe Consumer Rights Act covers consumer services, including reasonable care and skill and a reasonable charge if no exact price was agreed. GOV.UK source ↗ Online suppliers of POM-V, POM-VPS and NFA-VPS medicines must be VMD-registered before supply. VMD guidance ↗

Future CMA requirementsStatus checked 31 August 2026: the substantive CMA Order was still being finalised, so its specific £500 estimate and update thresholds were not yet in force. CMA status ↗

Worried about paying for treatment? See practical support options.

Want to compare another practice or seek another veterinary opinion? See the switching and second-opinion checklist.

Published clinic prices— taken from publicly available clinic price lists where available. Clinics without a published price show as “Not listed”.

Procedure

Abbotswood Veterinary Centre

Independently owned

£17

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Bristol

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Abivale Veterinary Group

Part of abivale.com

£42

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wantage

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Abivale Veterinary Group

Part of abivale.com

£42

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Didcot

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Abivale Veterinary Group

Part of abivale.com

£42

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Wallingford

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Amicus Veterinary Centre

Ownership not confirmed

£21

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Solihull

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Apex Vets

Ownership not confirmed

From£26

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Denny

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Bath Veterinary Group, Rosemary Lodge Veterinary Hospital

Part of bathvetgroup.co.uk

£34

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Bath

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Bath Veterinary Group, Station Road Veterinary Surgery

Part of bathvetgroup.co.uk

£34

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Bath

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Beacon VetCare Summercourt

Ownership not confirmed

£16

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Newquay

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Cariad Vets

Independently owned

£19.90

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Swansea

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Church House Veterinary Clinic

Ownership not confirmed

£15.08

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • St. Neots

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Eastbourne Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£35

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Eastbourne

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Foxcotte Veterinary Group

Ownership not confirmed

£37.25

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Andover

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Harrison Family Vets, Didsbury

Part of Harrison Family Vets

£20

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Manchester

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Harrison Family Vets, Kingswinford

Part of Harrison Family Vets

£20

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Kingswinford

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Harrison Family Vets, Middleton

Part of Harrison Family Vets

£20

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Leeds

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Harrison Family Vets, Mosborough

Part of Harrison Family Vets

£20

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Sheffield

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Harrison Family Vets, Stockon-on-Tees

Part of harrisonfamilyvets.co.uk

£20

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Stockton-on-Tees

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Leonard Brothers Vets - Nantwich

Ownership not confirmed

£30

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Nantwich

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Queen’s Veterinary School Hospital

Part of hospital.vet.cam.ac.uk

£20

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Cambridge

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

The Shire Veterinary Services

Ownership not confirmed

£24

Published fee · Written prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Ulceby

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Toll Barn Vets

Ownership not confirmed

£25

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • North Walsham

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vet4life - Shepperton

Operated by Linnaeus

£21

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Shepperton

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vet4life - Surbiton

Operated by Linnaeus

£21

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Surbiton

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vet4Life - Teddington

Operated by Linnaeus

£21

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Teddington

Published by clinic · Checked · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

Vivapetvet

Part of vivapetvet.co.uk

£20

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

  • Amersham

Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

Procedure

VivaPetVet

Part of vivapetvet.co.uk

£20

Published fee · Written Prescriptions

Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Procedure

    Westbrook Vets

    Independently owned

    £26.25

    Published fee · Written prescriptions

    Confirm service and inclusions before comparing.

    • Warrington

    Published by clinic · Checked date unavailable · View source (opens in new tab)

    Other treatments UK owners compare alongside written prescriptions.

    Frequently asked questions

    How much does Written Prescriptions cost at a UK vet?
    Published UK prices for written prescriptions currently range from £15.08 to £42, based on 27 veterinary practices across 25 UK locations. Petfair does not state a single typical price here because this groups materially different services.
    Why do Written Prescriptions prices vary between vets?
    Veterinary fees in the UK are not regulated. Prices differ based on location (London practices typically charge more), practice type (corporate chains vs independents), what is included in the fee (consultation, medication, follow-up), and individual practice overheads.
    Does the price include everything?
    Not necessarily. The prices shown are published by each clinic for the named procedure. They may or may not include the consultation fee, pre-operative tests, anaesthesia monitoring, or post-operative medication. Always confirm the full cost directly with the clinic before booking.

    Get vet and medicine price alerts

    We'll let you know when Petfair adds more prices in your area, medicine comparisons, or price-drop alerts.

    Pet:
    Alerts for:

    No spam, and you can unsubscribe any time. Petfair does not provide veterinary advice.